<–  This is a photo of my beautiful, oldest sister, Beth.

When Beth was a young teen, she was diagnosed with diabetes.

Beth was exceptionally smart and well educated.  She taught school in the Nevada County Public School District in Arkansas.  She was so much fun to be around.  Nobody liked to laugh like Beth…she really liked to make others around her smile and enjoy life.

Beth had a sensitivity to people and the needs of people.  She seriously cared about them.  She instilled that into her own family and into me.

Beth was a bridesmaid in my wedding.  She even took me shopping to find just the right fabric for dresses for my special day.  She listened to me dream and talk.

She was so excited when my children were being born.  One thing we both had in common – we’re both baby lovers!!  There’s nothing like the smell and feel of a newborn baby. sighs.

She was my confidant, my friend, my sister.

I was right by her bedside in the hospital in a neighboring state when she passed from this life to the next one.  She died from complications of diabetes.    She didn’t have a diabetic clinic to go to for help, and I can’t help but wonder if she would still be alive today had one been available to her.

It’s too late for my Beth, but it’s not too late for others in Lafayette and our surrounding areas.  We’ve got to keep our diabetic clinic open and running full speed ahead!  Peoples’ lives depend on it.

Come join us on the steps of state capitol on Tuesday, February 28, 2012!  At 10 AM we’re having a rally to keep our UMC departments and all clinics open!!  We are chartering a bus, so please call me (Linda Reddoch) and I’ll save your seat! 337-315-7857

