Last night’s “See Ya at the Sign Rally” was so much fun!!!!  I really appreciated Shannon Roger’s help and couldn’t have done it without her!!  Her daughter made a lot of the really neat posters used!

We sure appreciated all the “HONKS” from the supporters! That was totally cool to hear all the support…it was quite the noise!!  We definitely made noise and were heard last night!!!  In all of my years, I never dreamed I’d be standing on a street corner with people I didn’t know and try and save a hospital! (I think it’s save to say that my high school civics teacher would be proud!!)

That is until the word came that five departments were going to be closing at our hospital.  I couldn’t believe it.  UMC is the most awesome medical center I’ve ever been to.  I’ve been to quite a few hospitals with family members and friends.  My husband has pastored many churches and we have visited many hospitals.  So, yes, I’ve been to a lot of hospitals.  I know a good one when I see one.  I know a “ho hum let’s see what happened to you so we can get you out” kind of hospital when I see one too.  UMC totally rocks!  They care about their patients and it shows.

We are trying to save our Pediatrics Department, OB/GYN, ENT, Opthalmology, and Orthopedics Department.  They are so crucial to our community.  People will not be able to get the care they so desperately need and deserve if these five departments shut down.  I shutter to think about what will happen to the OB/GYN patients who need a safe, medical environment in which to have their babies.  I’ve had six beautiful children and a hospital with a caring staff was always my biggest concern.

Then, after having Nathan and realizing he needed extra help and care, not sure what to do or who  to turn to…we landed at UMC.  My little boy has been thriving with Mrs. Bonnie’s care in speech.  She’s pretty amazing.  She goes the extra mile in making sure he’s making his best efforts in her therapy room.  I appreciate that.  Being with Nathan in his therapy sessions gives me ideas on how to better help him at home.  Nathan loves going to speech to see Mrs Bonnie because of the awesome tools she has in working with him.  Magnets.  O.M.G. that kid LOVES those magnets and this one jungle animals puzzle. haha  If you can’t communicate your thoughts, feelings, etc to someone with speech – how can you function and survive?  You simply cannot.  It’s imperative to keep the speech department up and going at it’s fullest potential.  And did you know that we had to go through the ENT department in order to get speech for Nathan?  So, if the ENT department is cut – what do you think is going to happen to speech? Yep.

After speech, we go to occupational therapy with Mrs. Jeanne.  So thankful to have people like her who take their job seriously and really help their patients be successful.  Nathan loves go to Mrs. Jeanne’s room because of the tools she uses to help him.  With her help, he’s been able to write  his name, put his shoes on his own feet, and so much more.  She’s also the one who discovered he has some vision issues.  I had no clue.  But after she made that discovery, it sure shed some light on a few school issues for us.

Nathan is now in vision therapy in Alexandria, LA.  Yes, we’re suppose to take him once a week for his therapy there.  It’s been very difficult to manage to say the least.  Now that our truck was in a hit and run…we were the one’s hit, the other fellow was the “run”, we didn’t get to go this past Tuesday and it really, seriously concerns me that we didn’t make it.  But there’s not a lot I can do about it except at home do a few eye exercises with him.  But it’s not like him getting to his clinic and getting full treatment.

Anyway, I just want everyone in our city and surrounding area to know about the proposed cuts at UMC and to take action.  Pick up the phone and call those elected officials and tell them to NOT make any cuts at UMC.  We need each department open….reaching, touching, helping, and helping heal the needy, the broken, the wounded, and the hurting.

  <–The reason this mama cried out….

 

