This Thursday, February 2, 2012, at 5:00 PM, I will be hosting a “See Ya at the Sign” Rally at UMC where the big sign is.

 

This is just a fun time to bring your family, posters in support of saving our beloved UMC hospital/departments!!  Also, bring you smiley, cheerful faces!!  We want everybody in our community to become involved with saving our beloved UMC hospital departments!  You would not believe how many people didn’t even KNOW about these cuts.  I am still hearing from people every day who tell me they had to clue this was happening at UMC.

NOW is the time to let our voices be heard!!!  Let’s rally the troops and let our elected officials HEAR us loud and clear!!!  We do NOT want our departments and programs cut at UMC.  We need them!!

Keep calling and emailing those elected officials and right now – really focus on calling Governor Bobby Jindal.  The number for Gov. Jindal’s office is 225-342-7015

SAVE UMC PEDIATRIC CLINIC
The Pediatric Clinic at UMC may close effective March 1, 2012 based on budget cuts.
WHAT CAN YOU DO?
• Spread the word using facebook and other social sites. Call the media, Daily Advertiser, KATC, KLFY, The Independent, The Advocate. Inform other leaders in the community, church leaders, directors of social services.
Here is a list of our Senator’s and Representatives;
EMAIL THEM ALL!!! Save UMC Pediatric Clinic!!
Senator Bret Allain 337-828-9107 allainb@legis.la.gov
Senator Page Cortez 337-993-7430 cortezp@legis.la.gov
Senator Eric Lafleur 337-363-5019 lafeure@legis.la.gov
Senator Fred Mills 337-845-4240 millsf@legis.la.gov
Senator Dan Morrish 337-827-3979 morrishd@legis.la.gov
Senator Johnathan Perry 337-740-6425 perryj@legis.la.gov
Senator Rick Ward 225-246-8838 wardr@legis.la.gov
Rep. Taylor Barras 337-373-4051 barrast@legis.la.gov
Rep. Stuart Bishop 337-981-7409 bishops@legis.la.gov
Rep. Simone Champagne 337-276-4916 champags@legis.la.gov
Rep. Mickey Guillory 337-457-0194 larep045@legis.la.gov
Rep. Bob Hensgens 337-893-5035 hensgensb@legis.la.gov
Rep. Mike Huval 337-332-3331 huvalm@legis.la.gov
Rep. Sam Jones 337-828-7778 joness@legis.la.gov
Rep. Nancy Landry 337-262-2252 landryn@legis.la.gov
Rep. Terry Landry landryt@legis.la.gov
Rep. Bernard LeBas 337-363-0158 lebasb@legis.la.gov
Rep. Jack Montoucet 337-783-2999 montoucj@legis.la.gov
Rep. Stephen Ortego 337-259-7795 ortegos@legis.la.gov
Rep. Joel Robideaux 337-984-1091 larep045@legis.la.gov
Rep. Ladricka Thierry 337-948-0369 thierryl@legis.la.gov
Rep. Vincent Pierre pierrev@legis.la.gov
Gov. Bobby Jindal http://www.gov.la.gov/index.cfm?md=form&tmp=email_governor

Here is an example letter to send to your Senators and Representatives and Governor!
Dear Sir or Madam,
I am writing concerning the recent announcement to close LSU Health Systems Pediatric Clinic located on the corner of W Congress and Bertrand in Lafayette, La. That clinic serves as a primary care and emergency care resource for the most undeserved and vulnerable members of our society, our uninsured and Medicaid Children. The clinic sees anywhere from 450-550 patients a month. It is a center of care for conditions that include, but are not limited to:

• Sickle Cell Disease
• Cardiology
• Hiv/Aids/Std’s
• Tuberculosis
• ADHD/Autism and other behavioral disorders
• Special Needs Children
• Occupational Therapy & Speech
• Audiology
• Early Intervention Services
• Pediatric Psychology
• Pediatric Counseling
• OCS—Abused and at risk children
• Other conditions requiring preventative care, Asthma, Diabetes, Obesity

The only point of access for these patients will be in the emergency room, which is absolutely the direction the federal legislators, insurance companies, and government agencies are trying to limit based on their belief that it is an expensive and inefficient means of providing primary care.
Please give this grave matter your immediate attention and voice your concerns about such a massive and devastating blow to the children of our community.
Check it out on facebook….SAVE UMC OF LAFAYETTE JOBS!

Advertisements